Adjustments

I have now been living in New York City for well over a month.

Crazy, right?

My life here at Pratt is energetic, colorful, stressful, and overwhelming at times. But, I also have found comfort here. I am happy.

The first few weeks, it was quite an adjustment. My family were now a couple states away instead of a couple feet. My whole life flipped over and I lost myself a little bit. To put it simply, I had a bit of an identity crisis.

All the things I identified myself as disappeared from my life. I was no longer a theatre mom or a costume head. I was no longer a violist. I was no longer the mom friend in the best friend group I’ve had. I was no longer a singer in my choir or a member of the youth group at my church.

There is no theatre or drama club on campus. My viola is stillย in Virginia.ย I haven’t found a church I connect to yet.

But what I still am is me. I am still the same Hannah even without my overloaded list of extracurriculars.

It is weird when your hobby becomes your whole life. Weird and absolutely amazing. I see people around me cracking under pressure, and it is no shocker why. Just in the past week, I had 40 paintings, three essays, two projects, over 100 pages of reading, two sewn mini skirts, and a bunch of other smaller things due. To those who say that art school is easy, you can do my 40 paintings, okay? thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Being able to actually focus time on what I want to pursue is the best change so far. I can directly connect everything I am learning to the field I want to enter. Every class is helping me take the steps I need into the career of my dreams. There may be some crazy teachers, it is art school after all, but even just having dedicated time to work on and hone those skills is letting me make leaps in my abilities.

With my hobby now being my life, I foundย a hole in that area. Other kids on campus started working out or going to parties. Lets be real, that’s not my thing. Instead, I decided to teach myself how to crochet; yes I do realize I am 100% a dork and I love it. Not only is it relaxing and mindless, it is an important skill for textile classes I will be taking next year.

file_0002

A couple weeks ago, I found myself sitting on the lawn, in the sun, crocheting, with friends saying hi as they walked by. It was that moment that I realized that I was truly happy and at home on my campus.

2 comments

  1. Keep up the hard work Hannah. It will pay off. If crocheting is being a dork I guess I am too! Haven’t done it for awhile but love it! Won’t be long to you are home for Christmas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this makes my heart beat faster..for one so young to find and use their gift so freely is a joy to watch!!! I am so happy for you girlie…๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ˜˜๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽˆ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ’ž๐ŸŽจ๐Ÿ‘ธ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

