Building up from Bedrock

The words can be hard to find in difficult times.

I’ve been wanting to express my feelings during this past week, but I haven’t been able to find the right way to put them. So I keep my hands going and tuck away the words for later. I crochet, paint, dye yarn, crochet some more, maybe do some patterning. It is only now, days later that I feel my words come back to me.

I’m scared.

Before I was exhausted and scared. Now I’m mad.

Instead of filtering that anger into hate, even though that would be the easiest thing to do, I want to find ways to filter that into action. I don’t want to stoop to the Trump supporters’ level and be divisive and hateful.

Everyone deserves their rights, voice, and even a bit of compassion. A lot of these people would probably hate me for who I am, but that doesn’t mean I have to hate them back. I love myself. Hating them and cutting them off, such as defriending on Facebook, wont help to change their own hateful perspective.

I have some absolutely amazing friends that attended the New York City rally and stood with thousands of others against the hateful rhetoric of our president elect. They chanted loud and proud of LGBT+ rights, love for Muslims, black lives matter, and so many other messages of positivity. You could see their anger particularly through the chant of “f*** Trump”; a chant that many around the country feel in their hearts but one that isn’t the most productive.

So other than speaking loud and proud like these peaceful and inspiring protestors, what can we do? How can we blossom some new positivity in a country that seems to be taken back to its bedrock?

Love others:

  1. Do you have access to an oven? Some cookie dough? Why not whip up a batch and give to neighbors; Clinton, Trump, and Third Party Supporters alike. Everyone likes cookies and I think we all need one.
  2. Is there a friend you are worried about or maybe you see them post something a bit worrying, don’t be afraid to reach out even if you haven’t before. A quick message or a hug can make a huge difference. (Oh and the cookies could work here too)
  3. Some people from the minority communities might be scared right now. Keep an extra eye out for them even if that just means sitting next to them on the subway.

Love yourself:

  1. Make some art! Are you angry? Press that pen to the paper. Discouraged? Paint flowing strokes and see beauty erupt from your creativity. Hurt? Use soft yarn and crochet or knit love into every repetitive stitch.
  2. Drink plenty of fluids, especially if you are like me and lost a lot of water through tears. Water, tea, coffee, apple cider, and hot chocolate are all good
  3. Pamper yourself! Do your nails, put on a facemask because that stress acne is a killer, and lotion up your beautiful body. And no, that’s not just for girls.
  4. Eat some of those cookies you made earlier. You deserve them too.

Love your community:

  1. Remember that art you made earlier? Maybe you could actually make them to donate! I plan on using the extra yarn from my Etsy business to crochet donation items. I’m going to be going through Crochet for Charity and seeing what I can help with. http://www.crochet.org/?page=charity
  2. Figure out what issues are the most important to you and sign up for newsletters and donate if you can. Stay informed on these issues and get ready to fight for them the next four years.

Feel free to share any of these ideas for positivity on your social media and plant your own little garden of love.

Art and Love, Art and Love

2 comments

Leave a Reply

